HomeAbout AlumniProgrammes & ProjectsNews & EventsBenefits & SupportDonate to NMMUNMMU
Banner image


We value our alumni:

  • Our alumni are our success stories.
  • Our alumni form our global footprint
  • Our alumni have a permanent relationship with us.
  • Our alumni are our most valuable brand ambassadors


2014 Alumni Awards

 NMMU Alumni Awards recognise alumni who have gone the distance and beyond in their various fields, to the benefit of society at local, provincial, national and international level. A number of outstanding nominations were received by the Alumni Association Executive Committee which is proud to present its awards in the spirit of NMMU’s values.

AWARD RECIPIENTS ... Dr Amber Anderson, Dr Hanningtone Gaya, Nomkhita Mona, Baxolile Mabinya, Nicholas Hafner, Deon Schoeman, Tracy Cheetham & Garret Barnwell.
This year we recognised Tracy Cheetham (SKA SA (Square Kilometre Array South Africa) project), Russell Domingo (Proteas head coach), Baxolile Mabinya (group strategy executive for Dimension Data: Middle East & Africa), Nicholas Hafner (National Sales Director, Board member and shareholder of Meridian Wine Merchants) & Isla Morley (full-time writer and author of three novels), as NMMU Alumni Rising Stars. Dr Amber Anderson (human resource executive of Coca-Cola Fortune), Garret Barnwell (president of Doctors Without Borders/Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF) in Southern Africa) & Dr Hanningtone Gaya (founder of seven lifestyle and business magazines in East Africa) were the recipients of the NMMU Alumni Special Awards. Nomkhita Mona (CEO of SAFCOL) also received her 2013 Special Award. The top Alumni Achiever Award recipient for 2014 was Deon Schoeman (founder and managing director of Klinicare Pharmacies).
We are proud of the achievements of the 2014 recipients.


Support the Student Alumni Bursary Fund Campaign!!






    Winand Grundling (centre) is presented with his Alumni Rising Star award by Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) Prof Piet Naude (from left) and Alumni Association President Randall Jonas. Grundling could not attend the awards ceremony in November and arranged to perform at a benefit concert in aid of the alumni bursary fund, where he received his award.


    The 2013 Alumni Awards ceremony was held at the Boardwalk Convention Centre in celebration of NMMU graduates who have excelled in their various chosen career fields. Joining (front from left) NMMU’s Alumni Association President Randall Jonas, Vice-Chancellor Prof Derrick Swartz and Chair of Council Judge Ronnie Pillay, Director: Alumni Relations Paul Geswindt (back left) and Managing Executive: Legacies Prof Kotie Grove (back right) are NMMU alumni achievers (from left) Alan Barr, Prof Albert Troskie, Travis Greeff, Paul Treu and Nikki Mbengashe at the Alumni Awards.


    NMMU PE Chapter hosted a Solo Exhibition by Dolla Sapeta recently at the Athenaeum in Central. Attending the event were Adv Shuaib Rahim (NMMU PE Chapter Chairperson), Paul Geswindt (NMMU Director: Alumni Relations), Dolla Sapeta (NMMU Alumnus) and Michael Barry (Senior Manager: Arts and Culture).


    At this year’s Alumni Association Thanksgiving Breakfast the Alumni Association contributed R150 000 to the NMMU Endowment Fund. Handing over the cheque to Judge Ronnie Pillay (from left) and NMMU Vice Chancellor Derrick Swartz was Alumni President Randall Jonas (right).


Files you can download

Upcoming events

Alumni Executive Meetings (2015)

Alumni & Joint Events

Varsity Cup


Telephone: +27(0)41 504 3935 | Fax: +27(0)41 504 2574 / 1417 | E-mail: alumni@nmmu.ac.za

PO Box 77000 | Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University | Port Elizabeth | 6031 | South Africa

© NMMU 2011