HomeAbout AlumniProgrammes & ProjectsNews & EventsBenefits & SupportDonate to NMMUNMMU
Banner image
About Alumni Association
Message from the VC Message from the President Message from the Director


The Association supports and enhances the realization of the University's vision and mission through maintaining and expanding positive relationships with its members and through utilising and maximising their expertise, goodwill and influence in support of the University.


Persons to whom a degree or diploma has been awarded to by the University, the former University of Port Elizabeth or the former Port Elizabeth Technikon.

Any person to whom the Executive Committee of the Association, upon invitation to or application by such person, has been granted membership of the Association.

Goals & Functions

  • To enhance the image of the association both inside and outside the NMMU community as an important stakeholder body and an asset to NMMU to support the realization of the university’s mission and goals
  • To foster loyalty to and pride in NMMU among members through effective communication so that they may positively influence others.
  • To provide and foster the provision of opportunities for Alumni to contribute in financial and other meaningful ways to the advancement of NMMU
  • To provide Alumni opportunities to benefit from their relationship with the university
  • To promote, protect and maintain the rights of the Alumni Association.
  • To promote the ideals and purpose of the University to constituencies and stakeholders of the University.

Alumni Executive Committee   

The Alumni Executive Committee were elected at the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 21 May 2013.


Dr Randall Jonas
Alumni Association President

Khwezi Blose
Alumni Association
Vice President

Elmari van de Merwe

Paul Geswindt

Secretary & Director: Alumni Relations

Prof Hugh Jeffery

Alumni Council Representative

Evert Knoesen

IF Representative

Sonnetta Human
Elected Member

Welcome Kupangwa      Elected Member   


     Michelle Mbaco         Elected Member 

Ayanda Mlatsha
Elected member

Luthando Jack      

Dean of Students    


Dr Muki Moeng

Deans Forum Representative


Thomas Terblanche 

Co-Opted Member 

Pieter Swart

Pieter Swart 

Director: Marketing & Corporate Relations

Petedro Maqanda

SAS President 



Santhoshini Petersen 

Alumni Relations Coordinator














Upcoming events

Relationship Building Events (TBC)

AAEC Meetings


University Events


Telephone: +27(0)41 504 3935 | Fax: +27(0)41 504 2574 / 1417 | E-mail: alumni@nmmu.ac.za

PO Box 77000 | Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University | Port Elizabeth | 6031 | South Africa

© NMMU 2011